Before a Store is published, members of its team who can open Store can browse it while signed in, without the Preview password. View store on the Store overview and on Design opens it as a preview. They can browse but cannot add to the cart or check out.
Anyone else still needs the preview password, and the Store's own domain does not show a Store that is not published.