When a project client Contact has been deleted, new time entries use no client until another Contact is selected. The project page also shows No client. Existing tracked entries keep their recorded time.
Projects with deleted clients can start timers
A project with a deleted client Contact no longer prevents a new timer or time entry from being saved.